DUI Arrest? 10 Days to Immediately Reinstate Your License
If you have been arrested for DUI you have 10 days to preserve your driving privileges. You must act quickly or face mandatory "hard-time" (no driving whatsoever). If your license has not been previously suspended for an alcohol-related offense, then you may benefit from a new law (effective July 1, 2013) that will allow you to immediately reinstate your driving privileges. You must sign up for the appropriate level DUI school, be ID compliant (verify citizenship and residency requirements to DMV) and file a Request for Eligibility Review at the appropriate DMV office--all within 10 days following the date of your DUI arrest. This will enable you to immediately apply for a hardship hearing, reinstate your driver's license and avoid any "hard-time." There is a lot to do in a little amount of time. Call our DUI law firm today and have us guide you through this new process.
Who is Eligible for the New Eligibility Review and Formal Review Waiver Process?
Effective July 1, 2013, and Pursuant to Florida Statute 322.2615(1)(b)(3) and Florida Statute 322.271(7), The new Suspension Waiver Law allows for immediate driver's license reinstatement following a DUI arrest for persons that meet each of the following three criteria:
(1) This is your first alcohol or drug-related driver's license suspension.
(2) You have not been previously convicted of DUI or any other alcohol or drug-related driving offense; and
(3) You do not possess a commercial driver's license
How Do You Apply for Immediate Reinstatement?
You have 10 days following the date of your DUI arrest to complete the reinstatement process or this opportunity is lost forever. To complete this process you must:
(1) Obtain every page of your police report and DUI ticket.
(2) Sign up for the appropriate level of DUI school.
(3) Bring proof of DUI school registration to an appropriate DMV Office (addresses listed on the back of your DUI ticket)
(4) Bring proof of citizenship to DMV (if you are not already Real ID Compliant)
(5) Fill out the Request for Eligibility Review Waiver Form along with a copy of your DUI ticket
(6) Pay the $25.00 application fee and be prepared to pay the $200 reinstatement fee, if approved.
If your 10th day falls on a weekend, legal holiday or other day DMV is closed then your time for reinstatement is extended to the next business day that DMV is operational. It is always a good idea to apply for reinstatement as soon as possible. If there is a problem with this process or an error on your driving record you will want as much time as possible to correct this situation.
Who is not Eligible for any type of Florida DUI Hardship License?
You are not eligible for any type of DUI hardship license if you fit into either of the following three categories:
(1) you have two or more DUI convictions; or
(2) you have refused the breath test two or more times; or
(3) you have been arrested or cited for driving unlawfully since your DUI arrest.
Call a DUI Lawyer in Orange County, Fla. to Discuss Your Driver's License Options
Call 407-740-7275 to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer regarding your DUI hardship license options. Remember that you have only 10 days from the date of your DUI arrest to complete this process. In addition to keeping normal business hours, our office is open every Saturday. We are happy to answer any of your DUI hardship license questions and help you fill out all of the necessary paperwork. We proudly defend all Orange County, Fla. or Seminole County, Fla. DUI cases.